The Food List
Every year, the Coeliac Society compiles a detailed list of foods that are free from gluten ingredients and cross contamination with gluten. We contact food manufacturers to check about ingredients, if there are foods with gluten onsite during production and collect laboratory certificates from food manufacturers that show their foods are gluten free.
Food labels do not always list gluten contamination – there is no legal obligation on manufacturers to list this, although many do. The foods list is your guarantee of foods that have been checked by the Society as being suitable for you and your child.
Using the Food List:
- Lots of foods are naturally gluten free – meat, chicken, fish, eggs, milk, plain yoghurt, cheese, fruit and vegetables – as long as they have no sauces, crumbs or other ingredients added.
- For foods that have ingredients added – breaded fish, sauces, soups and so on – check your food list or look for the words “Gluten Free” on the pack.
- Do update your food list every year – food manufacturers often change their ingredients or process so you do need to stay up-to-date.
- If there is a food you are not sure about, contact the Society and we will contact the manufacturer. Just be aware that not all food manufacturers will come back to us with an answer but we will do our best for you.
This page is kindly supported by Dr. Oetker Ristorante Pizza