Having a friend, relative or young child who is visiting with Coeliac disease may seem a little daunting, what if I give them something that might make them sick? Should I just serve fruit salad?
In case you didn’t know gluten can be found in lots of foods such as bread, biscuits, cakes, pasta, beer, pizza and in many manufactured foods which may contain hidden gluten such as breakfast cereals, soups, sauces, salad dressings, crisps, chocolate, sweets and ready meals.
Here are some easy suggestions to follow:
- Naturally gluten free food like meat, fish, dairy and all fruits and vegetables are a great place to start.
- The easiest option is to make a dish with no gluten containing ingredients and there are lots of option in this magazine.
- If you are unsure that a product is not gluten free it’s best to avoid, reading the labels will list one of the 14 allergen’s present in the product, this is usually in bold.
- If your guest is coming to stay for a while talk to them about where you can buy staple gluten-free items such as bread, breakfast cereal and pasta. They may also offer to bring some food with them.
- When preparing gluten free foods wash your hands prior to cooking.
- Ensure all equipment, dishes and utensils are clean. Make sure you don’t stir or serve gluten-free food with a spoon that has come into contact with gluten without cleaning it first.
- If you are using a toaster, a great and helpful suggestion is to use a toaster bag. These are available in most supermarkets and come in packs of various sizes. Alternatively us the grill to toast bread.
- If you are using a breadboard, ensure itis thoroughly clean down before cutting gluten-free bread.
- If you are using a colander, just make sure that it is thoroughly cleaned before draining gluten-free pasta.
- When cooking gluten free fried food, can only be cooked in clean frying oil. It is important that the oil has not been used previously used to cook breaded or battered non-gluten-free food.
When a dish is cross-contaminated by gluten eg. adding a wafer to ice-cream, it will need to be prepared again. If you just remove the wafer this does not make the dish gluten-free.The best source of information is your guest themselves, if it’s a young child call the parent and ask for advice. Alternatively the coeliac society are here to help and support.
Check out our recipes section for more inspiration.