Drinks are also covered in the Food List. Most drinks are gluten-free, with the exception of some soft drinks and beers that aren’t specifically gluten-free.
The following soft drinks are gluten-free:
- Pure fruit juice
Many alcoholic and a few non-alcoholic beverages including home brews are made from Barley. Drinks that are produced using the distilling process are gluten free, brewed products may not be gluten free.
Alcoholic Drinks that are derived from a distilling process are gluten-free:
- Spirits (whiskey, vodka, rum, gin, tequila)
- Fortified wines (sherry, port)
Alcoholic drinks that are derived from a brewing process typically are not gluten-free:
- Flavoured Beer
Note; Any spirits (where stated), that are aged or matured in stout/lager casks may be contaminated with gluten. Therefore we do not recommend these as safe options for coeliac and advise on selecting other options.
There are a number of gluten-free beers available on the Irish market all listed in the Food List 2017